Three useful Teams tricks

Do you use Teams every day and would you like to know how you can save time in this tool? Read on to discover my favourite Teams tricks.

1. The History menu

The History menu quickly and easily takes you back to Teams locations you’ve visited recently.

When you hover over the back arrow to the left of the search bar, a menu will appear that shows the last 12 locations you’ve visited in Teams. These locations could be activities, channels, conversations, tabs, files, or Teams apps.

All you need to do now is click the location you want to go back to.

Good to know: you can also open the History menu with the shortcut CTRL+Shift+H.

2. Availability notification in Teams

Imagine you need to talk to someone in your organisation, but the person you need is busy. Did you know that you can avoid disturbing them unnecessarily by having Teams send you a notification when they’re available again? To do this, add them to your status notifications list via chat or by editing your settings. Just follow the steps below:

Through a chat

  1. Open your chat list and click your chat conversation with the person you want to get notifications about.
  2. Click the 3-dot icon.
  3. Click Notify when available.

When you no longer want to be notified of this person’s status updates, repeat step 1 and 2 and click Turn off notifications.

Create a status change notification through Settings

  1. Click the 3-dot icon to the left of your profile button (in the upper right corner in Teams).
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click Notifications.
  4. Click the Edit button in the People section.

Enter the name of the person you’re looking for and click them.

If you want to turn off status notifications, repeat step 1 to 4 and click the Turn off button next to the person’s name.

Keep in mind that you can only add up to 15 people to your status notification list.

3. How to save information and questions in Teams

We receive a lot of information and questions through Teams, and we need to make sure that none of these go unnoticed or are forgotten. That’s why it’s always a good idea to have a checklist of the conversations you want to keep track of.

You can save a message to read it later or mark it as unread by following these steps:

  1. Click the 3-dot icon in the upper right corner of the message.
  2. Click Save this message or Mark as unread.

To view your list of saved messages:

  1. Click your profile button in the upper right corner.
  2. Click Saved.

The list of messages will appear in the second part of your screen.

If you want to remove a message from the list, click the purple flag next to it.

Would you like to discover more useful Teams tricks? Be sure to have a look at our Teams trainings

Share this blogpost
Categories: Teams
Tags: Teams

Also interesting for you

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked.

Bring your knowledge and skills to a higher level

Subscribe for our monthly newsletter and receive:

  • Exclusive tips & tricks
  • Information about our courses
  • Trends on courses
  • Invitations to seminars and events

Most popular courses